I seek to correct you, my child

Knowing that you are my reflection

You have the failings that I have

I seek to correct you, my child

Because it’s easier to direct than introspect

Because it’s easier to expect you to change than to change myself

 

I seek to correct you, my child

So that you are better than I am

Because there are times when I don’t like myself

 

I’d heard that children become what they see and not what they are taught

But I understood it only when I saw myself reflected in you

 

I seek to correct to correct you, my child

Because you are too precious to be me

Even though you are mine

 

Though I seek to correct you, my child

I want you to know, that you are and will be

The most beautiful child in this world

You are the most precious, most adorable child in this world

I seek to correct you, so no one else does

I want you to stand tall and proud

With the strongest spirit

Knowing that there is no other, like you.

